Making the whole operation work is the trainer and Fortune did it this year while dealing with her own battle.

"I found out on June 29," said Fortune, "I had Stage 1 breast cancer."

"In September, I began chemotherapy. I get that every three weeks. The radiation will start in February and will run to September."

Fortune doesn't mince words about the disease.

"It takes its toll since a trainer works a split shift," Fortune said. "It wears you down, but, at times, I swear, I think the worst part is it kills your taste buds."

Reflecting on the racing season, Fortune felt "our highlight was L TOOTIE. She won seven straight races early in the year and was ranked nationally, now more than four years old. She is amazing. She will probably finish with 180 career starts."

Looming over everything is the closing of Bluffs Run.

"That fact is depressing," said Fortune. "I love the greyhounds. I've decided that I am going to be done with the business [when the track closes in December 2015] and I am going to be with family."

- Trainers of the Year: 2015 - Lori Fortune 2014 – Phil Stapleton 2013 – Monte Hoopes 2012 – Lori Legg 2011 – Chuck Sheldon 2010 – Monte Hoopes 2009 – Ray Brownlee 2008 – Ray Brownlee 2007 – Ray Brownlee 2006 – Ray Brownlee 2005 – Lori Fortune 2004 – Linda Willey 2003 – Don Conatser 2002 – Don Conatser 2001 – Joe Osborne 2000 – Jim Lovely 1999 – Jay Rangel and Jim Prescott 1998 – Tracy Nelson and Darlene White 1997 – Louise Strong 1996 – Andy Baker 1995 – Randy Montgomery 1994 – Jeff Grubbels 1993 – Mark Arno 1992 – Jeff Wilhite 1991 – Rich Tomlinson 1990 – Ron Mullen
- 1989 Bill Henry
- 1988 Marv Anderson